Australian Consulate-General
New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna

Australian citizens - Consular services and travelling abroad

The Australian Consulate-General in Noumea provides a range of consular services to Australian citizens in New Caledonia and in Wallis and Futuna.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) sets out the standard of service in the Consular Services Charter. The Charter signifies DFAT's commitment to providing effective, prompt and courteous consular services, delivered in an equitable way, to all Australians in need as well as clarifying the limits to consular services.


Smartraveller has the latest, authoritative travel advice so you can be informed and prepared about overseas travel. Subscribe to receive travel advice updates - by simply supplying your name and email address – straight to your inbox.

You can now also subscribe to the new SMS service - by supplying your mobile number – to receive critical alerts in the event of a crisis overseas.

In a crisis, Smartraveller will activate a crisis page on its website. It will make it easier for you or someone you know to contact the Australian Government if you need help. It will supplement the consular emergency hotline.

Visit to subscribe or connect with Smartraveller on Facebook and Twitter. Check out also the travel advice for New Caledonia.



Personal information provided to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) is protected by law, including the Privacy Act 1988. DFAT’s privacy policy, the Consular Service Charter and the Consular Privacy Collection Statement are available on line. Personal Information may be used by us to provide consular assistance.



 If you need immediate assistance, you can call the Consular Emergency Centre, 24 hours a day, on +61 2 6261 3305 from overseas or 1300 555 135 from within Australia. Or you can also send an SMS at +61 421 269 080.

 Australian Consulate-General, Noumea: phone +687 27 24 14 (follow the prompts) – consular assistance email: [email protected]. Our office is open Monday to Friday from 9am to 4pm (except public holidays).